Fra New York Times: – Getting Out of Debt? It’s Child’s Play

Consider novels. That wunderkind author Christopher Paolini has sold gazillions of books about dragons. So why can’t my own kids write books, too? These days, it’s not even absolutely necessary to attract the attention of a publisher: a couple of friends have self-published their works, and now children are getting into the act, too. At least two high school friends of my son Joseph have self-published books. In an age when twenty-something sons end up moving back in and sleeping on the national couch, we should applaud this teenage enterprise. But how can I get Joe in on the action?

I went through his backpack to see if any of his homework might be publishable. There was really no hope for the math handout, but there was an assignment to write a children’s book that I have high hopes for.