Fra Guardian:

Has endlessly skimming short texts on the internet made us stupider? An increasing number of experts think so – and say it’s time to slow down. If you’re reading this article in print, chances are you’ll only get through half of what I’ve written. And if you’re reading this online, you might not even finish a fifth. At least, those are the two verdicts from a pair of recent research projects – respectively, the Poynter Institute’s Eyetrack survey, and analysis by Jakob Nielsen – which both suggest that many of us no longer have the concentration to read articles through to their conclusion.

Slow Readers Book Club

Don’t let the name fool you- it’s not for literally slow readers (although, if you are, we don’t judge) and it’s not as exclusive as a ‘club’. This is an opportunity to take part of a movement that needs a revelation to slow down and take a few minutes in our day to disconnect, reenergize and even be a part of helping our communities and environment, via The Slow Movement.

One of my goals for 2010 is to read more, but to enjoy it. I speed through books piling on the next one, and I’m in need of bibliotherapy. I knew I wasn’t alone here. After a few text messages and emails with fellow bloggers, Slow Readers Book Club came to form. Some of the books we read in the book club may be a little out of our comfort zone, but I need something like this to expand my reading collection. Some of the books we choose may be our favorites, some of them will make us cringe, but those make for great discussions, right?